St Dogmaels occupies a beautiful situation, overlooking the River Teifi opposite the town of Cardigan in South Wales.
The name St. Dogmaels is associated with the Welsh Saint Dogfael, a 6th-century saint said to have been the son of Ithel ap Ceredig ap Cunedda Wledig, and also reputedly the cousin of Saint David.
The village has a rich history dating back to the 12th century and dominated by the ruins of the abbey dominate the community. Founded by Robert Fitz-Martin and his wife, Maud Peverel, as a priory in 1113 for just 12 monks and a prior, it was raised to abbey status in 1120. Although the abbey church was not completed until midway through the thirteenth century, much of the domestic accommodation must have been built by 1188, when Gerald of Wales and the Archbishop of Canterbury enjoyed the hospitality of Prince Rhys whilst staying overnight at St Dogmael’s Abbey. There have been ecclesiastical buildings on this site from the 6th century
Although best known for its abbey, this small community was an important herring fishery in the 18th century and during the second half of the 19th century, the village grew rapidly, largely due to the flourishing ship building industry on the Teifi. Fine 19th century warehouses and lime kilns can still be seen along the river reflecting the wealth and importance of St Dogmaels during this time.
For a more indepth view of the Abbey please click the link to Local Historian GlenJohnson’s History Page
A more recent view of the village and a fascinating insight into how the village coped during WW2 can be read in The War Years Diaries by Glen Johnson BA (Hons)
The Parish Church of St Thomas
BETHSAIDA BAPTIST CHAPEL, HIGH STREET
BLAENWAUN BAPTIST CHAPEL (BLAENYWAUN)
BRYN SALEM CONGREGATIONAL
CAPEL DEGWEL, ST. DOGMAELS
CAPEL SEION C M CHAPEL
GERAZIM (GERIZIM) BAPTIST CHAPEL, CIPPYN.
GLANPWLLAFON & CAPEL CARANOG